1. Hotel Charlotte

0

Groveland, CA

Cancel

Open app

Search

Hotel Charlotte

4.4 (197 reviews)
ModerateHotels, Guest Houses
Open • 9:00 am - 9:00 pm

Hotel Charlotte Photos

You might also consider

Recommended Reviews - Hotel Charlotte

Your trust is our priority, so businesses can't pay to alter or remove their reviews. Learn more about reviews.
Yelp app icon
Browse more easily on the app
Review Feed Illustration

Reviews With Photos

Old Fashion
Teri F.

What a beautiful hotel and super sweet people. We stayed in room 6 small but quaint. The restaurant on site is amazing.

Restaurant and tavern of Hotel Charlotte
Carmen R.

This hotel is a hidden gem. It's in one of the closest towns to Yosemite and it's so cool. The town has everything you need. Multiple restaurants, grocery store, coffee shop, etc. The hotel dates back to 1921 and the California Gold Rush days. The rooms are quaint, comfortable and clean. There is food onsite and they routinely have music and drinks in the back patio area. The proprietors genuinely care about their visitors, always checking in and in our case, one of us was dumb enough not to use enough sun screen in Yosemite and one of the proprietors provided aloe with lidocaine. Many Thanks!!!! Please include this place in your next visit to Yosemite, you won't be disappointed.

Exterior of Hotel Charlotte
Jessica V.

Hotel Charlotte feels like home. The team is incredibly hospitable and welcoming. Located just 30 minutes away from the Yosemite park entrance, access to the stunning Sierra landscape is quite literally in Hotel Charlotte's backyard. We stayed here for our Honeymoon and were so glad to come home to Hotel Charlotte after a long day's hike and definitely enjoyed grabbing a bite at the delicious hotel restaurant. If you're looking to plan a Yosemite vacation, don't skip Groveland, and definitely check out Hotel Charlotte!

Outside beer garden

Due to an unforeseen hot flash, I had to bail on camping and find a room for the night. Finn was an exceptional chap who helped me find somewhere - alas he was all full up. 100% would recommend as he was so nice and friendly. Having provided such wonderful help, I returned and booked 2 nights. I couldn't be happier. The outside beer garden is small and intimate and the food was delicious.

Dinner
Max J.

See you again. DEFINITELY! Great hotel service all around, Finn, owner amazing. Staff very personable. Quaint, comfy rooms. 100 year old plus charm, rings the accommodations. Tired of seeing pics of the "before" eating of the meal, well here are the results. Plates clean, meatloaf extraordinary! Thai curry shrimp.... Boom! Highly recommended all around! Thank you for our great weekend experience.

Cute old phone in our room and it works.

See all

Reviews are largely positive. Guests highlight the historic charm and inviting atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff, and clean, comfortable rooms. The excellent on-site restaurant is also well-regarded.

Read the full review summary in the app

Photo of Lisa C.
114
373
107

3 months ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

7 months ago

Business owner information

Photo of Brennen J.

Brennen J.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

10 months ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 months ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Teri F.
0
40
71

11 months ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

11 months ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Paul S.
54
47
1

1 year ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

1 year ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 2
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

1 year ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Max J.
0
12
7

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of David K.
13
116
0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

8 years ago

Helpful 8
Thanks 0
Love this 8
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0
Photo of M K.
44
115
501

4 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of lili l.
47
63
0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0

5 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Jen B.
8
396
1077

7 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of 40 W.
0
201
1

2 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Sid A.
31
2
0

4 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

6 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0
Photo of Kim O.
92
33
17

4 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

6 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

4 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Food, drinks and live music were great. We enjoyed our first visit to Groveland and can't wait to return.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Moe R.
175
518
2327

7 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

Page 1 of 5

Ask the Community - Hotel Charlotte

Review Highlights - Hotel Charlotte

“My family and I decided pretty last minute to drive about 4 hours to spend the afternoon riding our bikes in Yosemite.”

Mentioned in 80 reviews

Read more highlights

You might also consider

Verify this business for free

People searched for Hotels 482 times last month within 15 miles of this business.

Verify this business

Groveland Hotel - One of the big king rooms at the front of the hotel

Groveland Hotel

(200 reviews)

$$

After hearing the story of Lyle's Room at the Groveland Hotel, my aunt and I decided we had to go…read moresee it for ourselves. We drove over three hours and arrived so excited. We were welcomed by Roy at the front desk, who was such a pleasant and kind gentleman. We asked him about Lyle's Room, and he generously shared the history and stories behind it. To our surprise, he even offered to give us a tour. That was completely unexpected and made the experience even more special. As Roy walked us up to the room, he told us more about Lyle and the stories connected to the room. Being able to go inside was amazing. The room was beautiful, and the entire hotel has such a unique, historic charm. Every part of the property felt warm, peaceful, and well cared for. I stayed in the Orion Room, and after hearing the stories about Lyle knocking things off the dresser, I made sure to keep my things nice and clean while I was there! I will say, though, I got some of the best sleep I have had in a long time. The staff was incredibly friendly, and the hotel has so much to enjoy. They have a great wine selection, a beautiful bar area, and a wonderful restaurant. I enjoyed wine and dinner outside in the back, surrounded by trees, a waterfall, and cozy fireplaces. It was absolutely beautiful. I will definitely be coming back. This place offered a kind of peace that I would love to give my body and mind again. Thank you to Roy and the entire Groveland Hotel team for making our visit so memorable.

We had an overall positive, albeit very unusual and interesting, stay at the Groveland Hotel!…read more My husband, our pups, and I stayed for one night on our way to Yosemite. We let the hotel know in advance that we'd be arriving late, past office hours, and their contactless check-in process was very easy - they made sure to let us know via email exactly what to expect upon after hours arrival. Our envelope and room key were easy to find, and that's when we noticed we had been assigned Room 15: "Lyle's Room." It is an older inn-style hotel; the room itself was clean, charmingly decorated, and the bed was comfortable. Our dogs were totally fine and relaxed. The only thing I found a little unusual was an extra sink being inside the bedroom area near the dresser and facing the bed, but I chalked it up to the design of an older historic hotel. That night, while we were winding down and watching something on our phone since there was no TV in the room, I noticed the sink turn on and off a couple of times for about 1-2 seconds each. I figured it was just old plumbing. Other than that, nothing else out of the ordinary and we slept peacefully. The next morning is when things got interesting. We left for an early morning hike, and when we came back and put the key in the door, the entire doorknob fell off. We couldn't get into the room. When we went to the front desk, they simply said, "Oh, Lyle!" and called maintenance. Once maintenance arrived, he let us in and fixed the doorknob. While we were packing up, my husband went to take a shower. Everything was fine until he tried to turn the shower off and realized the knob just kept spinning. The shower would not shut off!! We quickly got dressed and notified the front desk right away, while the shower continued running. Then steam started wafting into the bedroom, and we realized the water was very hot with no way to cool it down or stop it! Maintenance came back, worked on it, and realized he needed a completely new part, so he had to leave and return while the water kept running. The staff and maintenance handled everything with a great attitude and great, responsive service despite the chaos. We later found out it was the maintenance guy's first day on the job, and everyone joked that Lyle was just giving him a hard time on day one. After the fact, we learned more about Lyle's Room and its haunted reputation, and honestly, we are believers after having no idea about him! It felt like Lyle was making himself known and having a little fun. We did some post-stay research, and we found out that Lyle is actually known for causing mischief in those exact ways - water issues, room access problems, and little disruptions like the ones we experienced, which made the whole experience feel even more eerie and oddly fitting! Overall, the Groveland Hotel is a nice, charming, older hotel, and we'd stay again. Clean, comfortable, and just enough amenities for a decent overall stay in a small town. That said, I don't think we'd stay in Lyle's Room again, haha. At first, I wished we had been given a heads-up that the room was famously haunted, but on second thought, I probably would have requested a different room if I had known. So maybe it was better this way - definitely a memorable stay! Thanks Groveland Hotel, and Lyle!

Five Butterflies Lodging

Five Butterflies Lodging

(4 reviews)

What a find we had this weekend! We found ourselves needing a room for 3 nights over the Memorial…read moreDay weekend at the last minute. Chip and Buffy, the owners, went out of their way to be so warm and accommodating! Breakfast each morning was fabulous with Bagels, coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit and freshly baked coffee cake. One morning we had eggs in addition to the above. Everything was sparkling clean and they had all kinds of extra touches like mints, coffee in the room, snacks, and fresh baked cookies every day. The other guests were fun to talk with and Chip and Buffy were fantastic to talk to. They gave us helpful ideas as to where to go to eat and also local attractions. Their B&B is a 10 out of 10 in my book and you definitely won't be disappointed with your room. They also had keypad locks with a combination so you never have to worry about carrying keys. We will most definitely be back again! A great experience!!

What a charming place, warm and inviting! My wife and I found ourselves needing accommodations and…read morewe are so thankful for our hosts Chip and Buffy! They are so knowledgeable of the area on what to see and where to eat. With their help we got the best use of our time and the most value for our money! The lodge is nicely decorated with a welcoming living room that easily seats 8-10 people. The kitchen is well furnished and even has snacks available if needed. The rooms are nice with individual locking doors. Best of all, the lodge is extremely easy to access, less than a 1/2 mile from town and plenty of parking. We can't wait to return to see more of this amazing area.

Yosemite Pines RV Resort & Family Lodging - Entering wagon. Plenty of room for cooler or luggage on left before table.

Yosemite Pines RV Resort & Family Lodging

(317 reviews)

Yosemite Pines met all our expectations; they already had our reservations so check in was very…read morequick. It was off season so the amenities were not available but we figured that would be the case. We stayed there in our RV and we had no problems, there was a fenced in dog area which was nice. This is a good location to stay if you plan on going to Yosemite and need a place to camp in your RV. There are cabins there and a small store.

Second time we stayed at this place. it is located close to exit from 120 to old 120 Hwy. First…read moretime was during pandemic and it was winter that time. There is no much changes since out last stay couple years ago beside the small zoo with lliama seems gone. it has small small convenience store which is used for guest check in and check out. The store closes at 5 pm so if you are late check in they will stick your cabin information at the door. It is better to arrive before dark as it might not easy to find your cabin. It was considered huge lodging place which we notice new offering link glamping. This place is also for RV. Last time when we stayed, we stayed at smaller cabin which fit four. It has full kitchen for cooking and plates. it has bathroom inside. This time we rented a larger cabin for 5 but it is a bit disappointed as the it has one and half floor where it only have one room on first floor and 3 beds on the seconds floors but those as mostly for children as the ceiling is so low you cannot stand straight. if you have back pain, this floor is not for you. The cabin is self is good for 5 people. it has kitchen, cooking stuff. the bathroom is pretty small which make it not that convenience if you are above normal size. The air ventilation from the floor seem old and rusty which kind of not on eyes. I wish they may be paint it. The central air con and heating seem didn't work when we stay. We forgot to bring cooking oil and salt which was a bummer so we cook with what we have in the morning as the store was not opened yet. Overall it was nice stay but I wish they maintain the cabin better. I enjoyed more the first time we stayed and there was why we stayed again this year.

Vacasa - Personal items in the laundry room.

Vacasa

(7 reviews)

If I could do a negative review I would. We booked a stay through AirBnb, not realizing it was a…read morevacasa property. We sent a message to the host (it stated they would respond within 30-60 min) about their pet policy (it stated it was a pet friendly home) and they replied just after 24 hours (the cut off for a full refund) stating they were not able to accommodate us and our pets. We replied multiple times subsequently, including that same day, requesting a full refund but received no response at all. If this was for a reservation with a short turn around, we would completely understand. But this was for a reservation for 4+ months out -- completely unreasonable. We phoned AirBnB who were unable to help beyond telling us to message the host, which was not helpful. Tried calling Vacasa and spoke to them for 30 min and they were completely unhelpful. A complete money grab on their part. Will never use Vacasa again -_ RUN-- and will stay away from Air BnB vacasa properties as well since they were completely unhelpful.

Vacasa - A Dreamer's Getaway - Roswell, GA…read more I put off writing this review in hopes that Vacasa would come up with a reasonable offer to address the items I am going to write about, but it doesn't look like that's going to happen. So first and foremost, DO NOT BOOK THIS VACASA HOUSE. AND DO NOT BOOK THROUGH VACASA. Pay the additional AirBNB fees and book through them. They will take care of you. They look out for the clients. Not what I experienced with Vacasa. This stay was nothing short of a nightmare. I had some concerns at the beginning (if you view the 3D view you will understand why), but I did call and talk with the local host and she assured me that the house was clean and in great condition and that all of my concerns had been addressed after the pictures were taken. To say that the house was "professionally cleaned (per Vacasa's website) is a flat out lie. I'm not going to get into the back and forth that we had with Vacasa because quite frankly it's not worth it. Instead, I'll just share my pictures that were taken of the place. Pictures A - the two-car garage that was advertised and available and also confirmed it was available by the local host during our phone call. Pictures B - the "clean" kitchen. We didn't even want to cook in this kitchen. The pots and pans weren't very clean either. Pictures C - the advertised working washing machine (which by the way never worked the entire length of our stay and we were there for a baseball tournament). The local representative stated she didn't know it wasn't working. The bucket, rag on the floor and rags in the stationary tub should have given it away when you did your pre-rental walkthrough. Guess she missed that mess. She did come and get the towels and wash them for us on the last night, but that didn't help with the ball uniforms and clothes that needed to be washed. All of the kids wore dirty sweaty uniforms to their ball games. And it was never even looked at by someone during our trip. Completely ignored by both Vacasa and the local host. Pictures D - don't think your going to be grilling anything on this grill. Pictures E - Hope you like dust in your vents. Pictures F - The Air Conditioner temperature upstairs for the entire duration of the trip. They did send someone out to try and fix it, but ultimately it was never fixed. One night it got up to 87 degrees. Sweated through the sheets, would have been nice to be able to wash them... but...no wash machine. Pictures G - The outside of the house. Looks clean to me. Anybody missing a license plate? Pictures H - Electrical outlets and lights exposed. Don't stick anything in there. You might get a big shock. Pictures I - Don't get too close to this metal bar. You could get a bad cut if you weren't paying attention. Guess it was too hard to remove before renting. Pictures J - Master closet - Hope you didn't need to hang anything up. Hall closets - Again, good luck if you needed to hang anything up on your trip. The house was full of personal items. Was very odd. Pictures K - Hookah pipes - there were two in the house. Great family vacation memory. Especially with teenage boys. Pictures L - Wireless Connection to the TV - this stopped working on day two. Never could use the TV's after that. Wireless internet was spotty. Had several of us that needed to work and we had to use our hotspots. Pictures M - Dust in Theater Room - Looks like it was just cleaned, right. Again, should have been noticed on the pre-rental walkthrough. This house was totally misrepresented on Vacasa's website and unfortunately Vacasa was okay with that. I texted Vacasa daily updates and was told "we're looking into it". And then later to be told we "refused their help". It's was disgusting how we were treated. I begged for help. Spent my whole vacation trying to get it. Truly the worst customer service I have ever experienced. So just to sum it all up... No A/C upstairs (where 3 of the bedrooms are) for the entire duration of the trip. No Wash Machine for the entire duration of the trip. TV's were only available for 2 of the 4 days. No two car garage was available. And definitely not a "professionally cleaned" house. Please do yourself a favor and go to AirBNB or VRBO's website and search for your next vacation rental on their website. You will have a much better vacation experience. This one will go down as the worst vacation ever for 4 families. 7/10/24 update - After many "were looking into it and will get back to you" (and probably seeing several reviews), Vacasa did agree to refund 50% of our stay. Still would never book with them as it shouldn't have been this hard for them to respond and get this resolved. Shout out to Felicia as she was the only one from Vacasa that seemed to give a hoot about customer service.

Cozy Chalet - Backyard

Cozy Chalet

(3 reviews)

I would actually say 0 stars if I could! Vacasa is the WORST!…read more During my recent stay this past weekend there were many issues with the house that I had rented. I had originally booked Dardanelle Vista #GJTFZ4XG Upon arriving at the house the following things were wrong. - No couches in the living room. (They were torn up and stacked in the garage)- The futons that were considered extra bedding for the guest were being used as couches not allowing for correct number of beds for the guests-The entire house smelled of Fish/Urine-The lighting in the master bedroom and game room did not turn on-The house was not cleaned. There was layers of dust on the ceiling fans, cobwebs every where, sticky reside on the blender, etc. (For being in a pandemic I would have expected cleaner facilities especially when your website says you take COVID cleaning into consideration) At 500pm I checked in and immediately called guest services. After three attempts at 5;00. 5:30 and 6:03 I was finally connected to Brooke. She informed me that she needed to hear from local management to see if there was another house I could move to. At 6:20 I received a call from Gemma, the local management offering to being me a lantern to make things "better" To this I declined and said I didn't pay $600 to get ready in a room with no light. I also asked how I was suppose to have my guest watch tv is the "couch" that they provided me with was also someones bed. At this time she informed me that the owners moved the couch out last week but never got a new one. This is something that should have been disclosed prior to the trip. What was rented and what we arrived to were two completely different. At 6:33 I received a text from Brooke letting me know they would be moving me to another house but that Gemma needed to go clean it first. The new house was Sierra Zen #GE03HCAT I was not able to enter the new house until 7:30. This caused me to postpone my trip by 2.5 hours and cause a lot of stress. Upon arriving at the new location I witnessed both Gemma and another man cleaning the house without gloves or masks on. Being in a pandemic and having your website claim you provide "Premium Clean" using EPA approved disinfectant, masks and gloves to your team, and sanitizing high touch services contradicts what I witnessed. This alone should warrant a full refund as the lives of myself and my guests were put at danger. This directly goes against everything you say you stand for. After Gemma left and I entered the home the following things were wrong:- The couch was broken and being propped up by two bricks. I immediately called Gemma who informed me that the last renter broke it and she was aware however no one fixed it? Again the house should not have been rented if the couch was being propped up by bricks?- The gas fireplace was not operating. After alerting Gemma she said that the maintenance guy would be out the following day at 10:30 to fix it. He arrived at 11:30 when we were not home and he text me that it was fixed. Upon coming home around 4 the house reeked of gas and we could not enter the home. We called the maintenance guy who told us to just open the windows and let it air out. He never returned to fix it. - There were no towels to use for the hot tub and Gemma said she would bring them by the next day. She never showed up with them- The house was not thoroughly cleaned. There were cobwebs and layers of dust on all the fans in the house. The island had sticky residue, etc- The picture for the house showed two couches in the living room but we found one up in the master and had to move it down ourselves for the guests to all be able to sit on the couches together. -The listing showed "Cable: Xfinity" and there was not cable boxes in the entire house. When I alerted Gemma she said all they had was wifi and DVD players. - The wifi didn't work and after following the trouble shooting we also alerted the maintenance guy so he could fix it. He was not able to so the entire trip no guests were able to access the wifi that was promised. This is my first time using Vacasa and this may be my last. I am extremely disappointed in everything that took place. I will say that I appreciate what Brooke tried to do but as she was not local she too had to trust that what the website shows is what will actually be in the house. From my experience so far everything that is promised on your website is full of empty promises. Management responded to my request calling me a liar saying that none of my complaints were true. That the couch was not broken, that Gemma did wear a mask, that cable is not listed as an amenity when it in fact says it has Xfinity and that I either take the $100 refund or get nothing. DO NOT USE THEM. THEY ARE LIARS AND COVER FOR EACH OTHER. I WILL NEVER USE THEM AGAIN OR RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE!

Like a rate shack!!…read more Terrible conditions and completely dirty! Dust everywhere. Sand on carpet. Bed blanket dirty with blood stains! Urine in the jacuzzi !! Stay away from this place!! Vacasa, the vacation rental organization, didn't publish my negative review. Never again a booking with them!

County of Tuolumne - Cobwebs & spiderwebs(spiders included) in several windows and corners.

County of Tuolumne

(1 review)

This review is for the Yosemite is Calling vacation house (Booking.com or airbnb). We spent just…read moreone night in Groveland, a lovely little city with all the charm of a small town with festivals and a downtown that's postcard quaint, a population of only 601 and every outdoor sport rental you can think of. We had an early drive to the Hetch Hetchy dam/reservoir the following morning and Groveland is one of the closest "larger" cities with proper accommodations for the short stay. Small hotels, B&B's and quite a few vacation homes; we opted for the latter. The Yosemite Is Calling vacation house was easy to find and in a terrific location, just minutes up Ferretti and an easy drive to restaurants, the grocery store and the cute downtown area of Groveland. The house has all the amenities you would need for a home stay away from home, plenty of parking, an outdoor deck, BBQ, kitchen stocked with the basics and loads of space. Terrific wifi and extras like laundry detergent, brekkie items were included. Check in/out was super easy. There were however several details that were less than adequate - a couple of which made our overnight stay a little challenging they are: -Deadbolt on front door is broken -Guest bathroom toilet seat is loose -Front door patio light is out -Bedframe in guest bedroom is obnoxiously loud/squeeky -Guest bedroom mattress is firm, very firm -Dimmer in dining room does not work -Ice trays would be nice -Washcloths/face towels would be nice -The skillet clock on the wall is 7:12 all day, needs battery? -Cobwebs & spiderwebs in corners of the rooms and windows need to be removed -Shower in master bath does not work; tub works -Barstools aren't high enough to reach the bar, you can't reach to eat or snack -The chair under the doorknob at the back door was unsettling -Instructions for ROKU -Would have loved to sign a guest book Vacation house Yosemite Is Calling

Red Tail Ranch - Ranch Bungalow sleeps 3

Red Tail Ranch

(12 reviews)

Best stay I've ever had. If you are visiting Yosemite and don't mind trading off an hour drive or…read moreso to the valley for the sake of enjoying the most pleasant stay you've ever had and eating homemade breakfasts better than the best of diners, come stay at Red Tail Ranch. Deborah and Kevin, both long-time locals of Groveland, run this quaint bed and breakfast and are some of the friendliest, most helpful guides you can have while planning your trip to the park. During our stay, they helped us figure out where to buy snow chains, recommended multiple hikes based on our interests, and even shared their lasagna dinner with us. The house itself overlooks a huge meadow lined with evergreen trees - a view worth waking up to! We stayed in the smaller room, which still had a queen size bed, walk in closet, and private bath. The living space is really homey - featuring a wood furnace, comfy seating, and a tv with Internet options. Every aspect of our stay was far superior to any stays I've had in hotels, motels, and other locations because few things can beat the warm atmosphere we found at this ranch. Breakfast is worth an entire paragraph of its own. Deborah must have been a chef in another life because her breakfasts are worthy of being featured in any five star restaurant. Each morning, she prepared a new dish - from eggs benedict served with cornbread to fluffy lemon ricotta pancakes with eggs and sausage. You can tell from the way she cooks that she truly enjoys preparing food for her guests. I was already won over by her cooking when I bit into the fresh baked chocolate chip oatmeal cookies she had left in our room so every morning was just another affirmation at how lucky we were to enjoy another meal prepared by Deborah. I cannot recommend this place enough! Stay here if you can! :D

What an incredible property with a beautiful mission of ecological conservation. Robb and Regina…read morehave poured their hearts into this property and share it with an enthusiasm for celebrating nature. The house was spacious and tidy with all the amenities and we loved stargazing from the hot tub at night, listening and identifying different owls based on their calls! The entrance to Yosemite is just 20m away if you want to visit the park, although we had a wonderful time staying on site. Highly recommend this gem for the setting, accommodations and hosts.

Yosemite Rose Bed and Breakfast

Yosemite Rose Bed and Breakfast

(44 reviews)

$$

100/10 starts for this family owned and operated bed and breakfast perfectly near the entrance to…read morethe park and the town of Groveland, a cute little historic mining town with shops and restaurants. Being in a beautiful home away from the city is what I needed (and the great sleep I had showed that)! The breakfast was superb both days and they even packed us a to go breakfast for the one day we went to the park early. I will definetely be back and bring friends and family with me!

We just spent a perfect 2 days at the Yosemite Rose Bed and Breakfast…read more. We rented the caretakers cabin, and it was so cozy and comfortable. The place is super dog friendly, they even have a ranch dog on site to welcome your puppy. The main house is the bed and breakfast, and is decorated expertly to invite all who enter a charming and warm welcome. And while the trip into Yosemite National Park, with our reservation and $20 was a complete and total disaster, the time we spent in Groveland more than made up for it. The caretakers cabin does not offer the breakfast part of bed and breakfast, but we were still treated to home made cheese cake prepared by our hosts and it was just ever so tasty. While we were enjoying a lovely cross breeze threw the cottage, a guest puppy found us and invited himself in for a bit of a quick sniff before his mom found him with his new friend Bernie(that's our dog). Our stay was just wonderful. Just a thought, the upstairs bedroom with its queen and 2 twin beds (all done in very comfortable and warm décor) does have steep steps on the outside of the house, not a problem for us, but could be an issue for anyone who is mobility challenged. We were also entertain by the abundance of non-human entertainers, there were horses, a pig, and some turkeys tending to there newly hatched babies. The morning song birds announcing the day were music to my ears, and the abundance of bees and butterflies gave me hope for our planet that all is not lost. after the past year and the pandemic, this little gem did the trick at changing my perspective back to a place of hope and goodwill. I highly recommend this to all you weary travelers.

OARS California Rafting

OARS California Rafting

(69 reviews)

The trip lead, Dana, was super well-organized and knowledgeable, regularly checking in on how…read moreeveryone was doing - a great natural leader. Our guide, Kylen (?) was a MASTER oarsman (best I've ever seen...), giving us clear instructions when we came upon some unusually challenging rapids. In some sticky situations that other boats got into, he was right ON IT to help them without hesitation, often seeing a problem before anyone else had. I felt completely safe in his care. He also "read the group" really well, connecting easily with everyone. Despite his amazing professional skill and emotional intelligence, he was very low-key and humble... to me, that's a sign of a lifelong learner. This was our 4th trip with OARS. There's so much care into the preparation, the selection and training of the guides and the well-oiled execution on these trips. We're already planning our next!

I've done a couple trips with OARS now: two on the South Fork of the American River and a 2 day…read moretrip on the Tuolumne. OARS does not disappoint! From incredibly attentive and knowledgeable guides to luxurious camping accommodations, they take care of you. All you have to do is show up and paddle. Maybe you don't even have to paddle if you're sitting in the gear boat. The American River trips are an easy day trip from Sacramento or the Bay Area. If you're looking for a little more adventure, a multi-day guided whitewater trip is so fun, with lots of downtime to swim, look at the stars, play games, and eat yummy food. There's no freeze dried camp meals here. Everything is boated in and prepped on the beach for you. So good. All around, so good.

Hotel Charlotte - hotels - Updated October 2026

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...