1. Driftstone Campground

0

Mount Bethel, PA

Cancel

Open app

Search

Driftstone Campground

3.9 (35 reviews)
Closed • Closed
Updated 3 weeks ago

Driftstone Campground Photos

You might also consider

Recommended Reviews - Driftstone Campground

Your trust is our priority, so businesses can't pay to alter or remove their reviews. Learn more about reviews.
Yelp app icon
Browse more easily on the app
Review Feed Illustration

4 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Wendy K.
1
132
25

3 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

3 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

5 years ago

I've been a seasonal camper for 16 years and it's a great place to camp! Everyone is pleasant and it is a friendly, family-oriented place.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

10 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Donna Z.
23
38
11

5 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Fredy R.
136
72
40

5 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0
Photo of Chi P.
0
14
0

7 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Iris b.
8
26
20

7 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

6 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

7 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Becca R.
239
35
81

8 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0
Photo of Amy R.
0
14
0

8 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

7 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

8 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

9 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 1
Photo of Scott R.
285
5
49

10 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

13 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 4
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

15 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0

15 years ago

Helpful 3
Thanks 0
Love this 2
Oh no 0

9 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

5 years ago

great family campground. grounds are kept clean. bathrooms are clean and checked. been going to this campground for 28 years.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of Teresa R.
20
40
64

8 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

13 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0
Photo of C W.
0
7
2

12 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

16 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

13 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

13 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

11 years ago

Helpful 1
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

11 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

12 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

10 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 1
Oh no 0

10 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

9 years ago

Business owner information

Photo of Melinda K.

Melinda K.

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

14 years ago

Helpful 0
Thanks 0
Love this 0
Oh no 0

Ask the Community - Driftstone Campground

Review Highlights - Driftstone Campground

“It truly is a family campground where you are comfortable and safe.”

Mentioned in 4 reviews

Read more highlights

Edge of the Woods Outfitters - Kayak down the Delaware

Edge of the Woods Outfitters

4.7(120 reviews)
8.9 mi
•$$

My husband and I had a fab time with Edge of the Woods! We rented a raft and a tandem tube…read more Service was friendly and the Delaware Water Gap is goooooorgeous. Highly recommended!

(This was a few months ago so the details could be a bit iffy.)…read more This was a very impromptu trip and everything at Edge of the Woods makes doing that easy. Head to the website, book the date & time you want and you're done. www.watergapadventure.com/river-trips A few things worth noting: They offer multiple trip lengths. The standard 4-, 6- and 10-mile trip (Smithfield to Portland) are all booked generically and then when you get there you tell them what you want to do. All pricing is the same which believe me compared to others companies, that's very different - in a good way. They do offer two other longer trips but those require calls to the main office I assume to assess river conditions; your own competency and shuttle availability. The main office in Delaware Water Gap is very easy to find and there was plenty of parking on a quiet post-Labor Day Monday. You check in, you're handed a laminated map, life jacket and given a brief route explanation and then you're off in the van. One problem arose and it was kind of a PIA but it was worked around. Most companies have different types/sizes/models of kayaks and quite often, will ask you what you prefer. Not here. When we left the office, the guy driving didn't say a word to me until we get to Smithfield Beach to unload. He had a few kayaks pre-loaded in the carrier but definitely did not look at them before we left. One of them had a broken foot pedal that he said couldn't be used, another was very much designed for a smaller individual (i.e. if you're taller and/or taller & larger it ain't happening safely) which only left two tandem models. Using a tandem as a single individual is not the end of the world but especially when the seats are still left in the two person configuration (i.e. one front and one back versus the rear one being placed more towards the middle), it's a PIA to maneuver the craft and you are paddling harder to get the job done compared to a single. The scenery along the route was decent. You could see a bit of the Shawnee Resort and Golf Course, an old stone bridge abutment in the middle of the river, under and along 80 and then when you get into the Water Gap itself with the high cliff sides. Very picturesque. Once you go under the old train viaduct in Portland, you give the office a call for the shuttle to meet you at the out point which is at the Portland Pedestrian Bridge. The whole experience was about four hours door to door to cover the ten miles on the water plus the shuttle to & from the pick up and drop off points. Lots of nice scenery, due to the low water level there wasn't much in the way of current except for the area around viaduqt in Portland and even that wasn't bad. I'm not a big fan of the equipment here but I wouldn't let that deter me from coming back in the future for one of their northern longer trips.

Photos
Edge of the Woods Outfitters - Two person kayak fun.

Two person kayak fun.

Edge of the Woods Outfitters
Edge of the Woods Outfitters - Adventure Time!

See all

Adventure Time!

Jim Thorpe River Adventures - Hanging with friends on a raft in the Lehigh River Gorge

Jim Thorpe River Adventures

4.0(53 reviews)
34.0 mi

This review will focus on the overall experience and the Intro to Whitewater experience. First off,…read moreANYONE can do this trip, do not bother with the beginner trip down the river. Unless you are medically unfit, you can do this. Exceptional customer service sums up the team at Jim Thorpe River Adventures (aka LOC). They are extremely well organized which makes for a great trip. Everyone from the moment you enter LOC until the very end was polite, professional and wanted to make sure you have a great time. Some tips to follow: you only need to arrive 15 minutes before your group time, this allows ample time to get situated. Buy their pre-made lunch, it is well worth the 10 bucks, bring extra water on the raft (especially in the summer). Use the bathroom before you get on the bus (and be quick). They give you a dry bucket for your lunch and items, yes you can bring your phone in a dry pouch. Wear a hat and a sun shirt, it is hot and sunny, without much shade. Jump in the water when you have the chance !! If you are a "full figured" person it will be difficult to re-enter the raft, be aware. The trip down river is very safe and well organized. The guides are VERY safety aware ! If you are nervous and listen to them, the team will get you down the river without a hitch ! A few suggestions: don't go on a busy holiday weekend, it can get crowded on the river, the safety briefing takes a long time and you a sitting in the sun (remove your vest and drink water), during July and August I would imagine the water is very low and slow (if it is a dry summer)...best only if you want to have a relaxing rafting trip. Overall, a bunch of fun. The entire family had a great time.

We booked the Intro to whitewater for my son's birthday, it was so much fun!! We were out for over…read moreabout 4 hours. It was so much fun! There was 6 of us and we had our own boat. We will definitely Be back. Staff was amazing! My son said Lindsay was the best and made the adventure that much better. Would highly recommend!

Photos
Jim Thorpe River Adventures - Smart, funny, and yes - patriotic Trip Leader Don Harris keeping it fun!

Smart, funny, and yes - patriotic Trip Leader Don Harris keeping it fun!

Jim Thorpe River Adventures - The Lehighton Outdoor Center

The Lehighton Outdoor Center

Jim Thorpe River Adventures - Exploring on 2-wheels = smiles!

See all

Exploring on 2-wheels = smiles!

The Last Frontier Angler - One of our three main menu options. Organic cheeseburger, sautéed mushrooms, onions. BYOB

The Last Frontier Angler

5.0(1 review)
5.2 mi

Highly Recommend My…read morewife got me a lesson and some time on the water as a gift I did not know what I was in for but it far exceeded my expectations Chris is passionate about fly fishing and it comes across in how he teaches it. If you have any interest at all in Fly Fishing don't hesitate, get in touch with Chris to get you on the right path. He is also very knowledgeable of NJ Waters. New or not spending time on the water with Chris is highly recommended.

From the owner: We are a Fly Fishing Guide Service specializing in providing unique outdoor adventure…read more We serve all skill levels! Don't know how to Fly Fish and want to learn? We can teach you to Fly Fish with our private Fly Fishing 101 course. Are the lakes frozen? Join us on an ice fishing adventure during the winter months! We have a private stocked pond that is great for children. Our service has access to a private facility at the Lazy "K" Ranch in Frelinghuysen, New Jersey and we access various other private and public water. We are a "western style" Fly Fishing guide service and provider of outdoor adventure. We specialize in Trout and Smallmouth Bass Fly Fishing in Sussex and Warren county New Jersey. Our services include guided walking/wading trips on the Flatbrook, Paulinskill and Pequest rivers. Additionally, we offer float trips on the Delaware River and lake trips on Swartswood Lake, White Lake and Mountain Lake.

Photos
The Last Frontier Angler - New Jersey Rainbow Trout

New Jersey Rainbow Trout

The Last Frontier Angler - Tiger Trout caught on one of our ponds.

Tiger Trout caught on one of our ponds.

The Last Frontier Angler - Chris casting for Tiger Trout on our pond.

See all

Chris casting for Tiger Trout on our pond.

Whitewater Challengers

Whitewater Challengers

3.9(182 reviews)
38.7 mi

So well run. Get there at your slotted time and then do all the things to get ready to have a fun…read moreday - pick up lunch, get wetsuits if it is cold, listen to the safety instructions. Feel free to bring your own lunch - we ordered from them and wish we had brought our own. Make sure you tuck your toes under the seat in front of you because otherwise you will pop out. Our picture at the end only had 3 people because one had popped out into the river. This was on the 6 hour tour. The guides were nice but in an emergency, which we had where two boats emptied their passengers, it was a little hairy. All in all a great day on the river. Super fun!

I have booked with White Water Challengers before and was excited to return because of the great…read moreexperiences I have had in the past. Unfortunately, our recent trip with a group of six was extremely frustrating due to the organization and scheduling. Our original time slot was changed because there were not enough groups, which we understood. However, our new 10:20 time slot was expanded to accommodate additional groups, and we were then required to wait an extended period for a very large group that arrived late. As a result, we did not begin rafting until after 12:15, and the safety review had to be rushed because of the delay. Throughout the trip, our group was repeatedly forced to stop and wait for the late group, who frequently fell out of their raft and struggled to follow the safety instructions. I estimate we spent close to an hour collectively waiting along the river. Even the group scheduled after ours eventually passed us, and we did not return to the bus until shortly after 5:00. I want to emphasize that Olivia, Bailey, Kristen, and Sid were excellent guides and did their best under difficult circumstances. My frustration is entirely with the organization and scheduling of the trip. Additionally, while this was outside of anyone's control, we paid for Class II and III rapids, but the river flow that day was approximately 820 CFS, making the experience much closer to Class I and II. I hope you will take this feedback seriously, as this experience was significantly different from the positive experiences that led me to book with White Water Challengers again.

Photos
Whitewater Challengers - July 2008

July 2008

Whitewater Challengers - Waiting

Waiting

Whitewater Challengers

See all

Delaware River Tubing - Delaware River Tubing

Delaware River Tubing

2.6(245 reviews)
22.6 mi

Honestly, I don't know why this place got such few stars? The four stars that I've assigned as well…read moredeserved. I visited on a weekday and perhaps that made all the difference in the world. My experience form beginning to end was fantastic. I think one thing that seems to bother most people is the BBQ lunch. The BBQ lunch was apart of my package and when I arrived they were just loading the buns to be taken out on the river. I'm getting a little ahead of myself here but you'll understand in a minute. When I arrived, there were already several eager adventurous folks checking in, buying waterproof items for sale, collecting their water rafts and some even already on the water. I checked in with my Groupon and as directed, I left my keys - collected my Kayak and proceeded to the bus. Please note, the rule is, everyone must wear a mask until you're actually on the water; great rule as it gets crowded in the shop as well as on the bus. It keeps everyone safe. I chose the kayak experience which was awesome but the real fun is in a tube. After my journey down the river, I immediately purchase another Groupon just so that I could come back and have a tubing experience. So, back to the BBQ lunch. By the time I paddles my way down (a few signs for the waters edge for direction) to the BBQ shack on the water, they were still setting up. I guess I paddle too fast. I decided to keep moseying down the river as I had already packed a lunch just in case after reading the reviews about the BBQ shack not being up and running. Oh well, next time I'll enjoy a burger. Again, this is the perfect mid week escape. The ride outside of NY is quick and there's plenty of parking. Although it says Delaware tubing it's actually located in New Jersey; well at least the border between the two. I would recommend going early and taking as much time as you like in a tube with family and friends. I would also recommend bringing children as they will develop a lifelong love of being on the water. I'm a big fan now and I can't wait to return in a few weeks. P.S. I was told by my bus driver, they offer a fall foliage experience where they only allow kayaks on the river.

Our family has enjoyed tubing on the delaware every summer for years. It's a great way to spend an…read moreafternoon in nature

Photos
Delaware River Tubing - Delaware River Tubing

Delaware River Tubing

Delaware River Tubing - Delaware River Tubing

Delaware River Tubing

Delaware River Tubing - Delaware River Tubing

See all

Delaware River Tubing

Kittatinny Canoes

Kittatinny Canoes

2.3(136 reviews)
36.0 mi

I think other reviews said it but I'll include my thoughts too -- the noise curfew is non-existent…read more We are night owls so we didn't mind. Let's dive in ... Campsite (3/5): These are a bit stacked on top of each other but our group had two next to each other so it didn't impact us too much. Ambiance (4/5): These campsites are right on the water which is absolutely stunning! You really feel like you're in nature, but there is a major road near the top campsites and even by the water you can hear road noise. There was a huge group at the top which partied into the night though we're up late anyhow and it was no issue for us. Consider earplugs if you're not like us. Bathrooms (4/5): These were relatively clean for a campground bathroom. Minus a star here because on the last day the women's room was out of order -- but I believe it was due to another guest, as a member of our party heard someone say "oh no it's not flushing!" TL;DR: Great for those late-into-the-night campers. If you stay here make sure you get a waterfront spot.

This is my second time doing a float trip with Kittatinny Canoes, but my first time from this base…read morecamp and I would never do it again. The employees working there were not helpful at all. After we were dropped off at the launch point, one employee gave a quick safety speech and then disappeared. No one helped us tie our tubes together or navigate the steep drop-off with our tubes to get into the water, which was extremely slippery and rocky. We were told the float would take 2-2.5 hours. This was wildly inaccurate. It took us an hour to float from the drop-off point back to camp. When we previously did the trip from Barryville, the float was much longer. For what we paid, this was a complete waste of money. Then, when we reached the ending point around 4 p.m., we were harassed by three teenage employees who were yelling at us and demanding that we bring up our tubes immediately. There was no one else going out with those tubes at that time, and we simply wanted to sit and relax for a few minutes since the float had been so short. The employees were unnecessarily rude and nasty about it. I feel bad for the people who paid to camp out on this site. It was pathetically small and claustrophobic. Do yourself a favor and book a float trip with another company. After this experience, I would not return to or recommend Kittatinny Canoes at either base camp. EDIT/UPDATE: After the owner's response, I wanted to provide some additional context because I don't feel her response accurately reflects what we experienced. First, regarding the float time: the website states that the trip is 2-3 hours, not 2-2.5 hours. I understand that river conditions can affect the timing, but the conditions on Saturday were considered normal summer levels, with no flood warnings or high water advisories. Our float was significantly shorter than the advertised timeframe. We were also surprised by how close the drop-off point was. The bus barely drove us up the road before letting us out, and the location itself seemed like an odd place to start the trip, being let out in what appeared to be a vacant grassy field directly next to the Riverside on the Delaware townhomes, not even 3 full miles away. I feel bad for the people who live there. It did not feel like we were out in nature, enjoying lush vegetation. I could literally hear landscaping equipment buzzing along the float. As far as the landing area, we did not see anyone trying to get out of the water with kayaks while we were there, nor did the teenage employees tell us that kayakers were waiting to come through. They were not helping people navigate the landing area; they were primarily standing around and yelling at guests to bring their tubes over to the trailer. If they had politely explained that we were blocking kayakers or asked us to move for that reason, that would have been completely understandable. That is not how the situation was handled. Our issue was not being asked to move. It was the attitude and lack of helpfulness from the staff from the moment we arrived. We would have been happy to cooperate if the situation had simply been explained to us. Unfortunately, that was not our experience, and the owner's response does not change what we personally witnessed during our trip

Photos
Kittatinny Canoes
Kittatinny Canoes
Kittatinny Canoes

See all

Delaware River Family Campground

Delaware River Family Campground

2.3(35 reviews)
1.0 mi

We stayed at Delaware Family Campground because they offered cabins at a decent price, and had a…read moremid week deal of buy two nights, and get one free. The campground is very nice, the tent sites are wooded and beautiful, and near the river. We were a little disappointed that the cabins were next to the road and all the community buildings (pool, camp store, and pavilion), so there were a lot of lights and noise. If you're looking for more of a quiet, nature camping, I would recommend tent camping at this campground. The camp store was well stocked and the prices were decent, however, we were a little taken aback that it seemed as though they charged for everything. The showers are coin operated, and you have to buy a $1 token to get back into the gated entrance if you return after 9 pm. They also had a rule that required campfires be out by 12:30 am. There is a liquor store and deli across the street and an A&P down the road a few miles, so it was convenient to get supplies we needed. My only real disappointment was when we went into the camp store to inquire about prices for rafting. The person helping us failed to tell us that there was a deal with the kids riding free on weekdays, which we had seen on the website. We went back and asked about the deal, and they agreed to let us have it. Kids are $26.95 each, so it was a savings for our family of four. The person who drove us out to the drop off site was very nice and helpful, and the rafting trip was enjoyable. Overall it was a decent campground, but we will most likely not return as there are many options in the area and our preference is a more natural setting.

Me encantó todo y muy silencio en el tiempo en que fui , lo malo es que la piscina estaba cerrada…read moreporque estaba medio frío me pareció muy buena la cabaña buen tamaño

Photos
Delaware River Family Campground
Delaware River Family Campground
Delaware River Family Campground

See all

Driftstone Campground - campgrounds - Updated November 2026

Loading...
Loading...
Loading...